The Lonesome Tree

[I wrote this song years ago as a teenager. It very well may have been my first. I don’t often write songs, but I’ve always really liked it even after all these years.]

[Verse 1]
Sitting under the lonesome tree
A boy who claimed that he was free
I couldn’t see what he could see
But he, oh, he was free indeed

[Bridge]
Dancing ’round the lonesome tree
He lifted his hands unto the sky
And the branches obliged, leaves smiling
The sun shined so brilliantly

[Chorus]
I wanna see you in the morning light
Embrace you in twilight’s fall
And love you through the night
And forget about it all

[Verse 2]
Love surrounds the lonesome tree
I knew you were the one for me
We laid in the cold, wet mountain dew
And for the first time I felt anew

[Verse 3]
I remember when we held each other close
Under the pale moon light blooming like a rose
We looked into each other’s eyes
While the stars above shot across the sky

[Bridge]

[Chorus]

[Verse 4]
Stands still the lonesome tree
It cries for the love that we once shared
Under its branches, under its leaves
It yearns for a time when love ran free

A time when it wasn’t so lonely

Leave a Reply

