The Ties that Bind

The ties that bind
No longer unify
My heart and my mind

Gone in an instant
The sunshine in my life
Increasingly distant

Clouds forming over head
The rain falls and the trees they sway
As I lay alone in my bed

Thinking of better days
ahead of and behind me
All I can do is pray

Pray for my friends that love me
For my family who cherish me
For my love, I love no one more than he

For I will soon be only a memory
A departing thought one tries desperately
to grab hold of before it dissipates

I leave behind no progeny
Only mem’ries of a short life, unfulfilled
And unrequited love regarded as mere sodomy

I am responsible for nothing of consequence
Nothing left but dissatisfaction and something to prove
My hopes and dreams will not be hobbled by circumstance

What binds us, the rich and poor, the weak and strong
Is an unyielding desire to change this world of ours
Through art, poetry, philanthropy, and song

Sooner or later I won’t be able to pick up a pen
And I’ll be left to merely think
About what might have been

As I lay alone in my bed
The rain falls and the trees they sway
Clouds forming over head

This is not the end but just the beginning
Am I by myself or are you with me
3-2 pitch, two outs, bottom of the 9th inning
With everything you have, help me pick up the bat

…and believe

3 thoughts on “The Ties that Bind

  1. The rhythm and rhyme was mesmerizing, underscored by the sorrow and subtle questioning. A poem that tugs at the heart and makes one restless and unwilling to accept things as they are. Hey, if this post is based on real events, let me state that such a life is not a waste and should not be reproached, because it is full of self-awareness and a determination to live with meaning.

    • Thank you for your kind words.

      It isn’t based on true events but, important in a large way to me, it’s based on how I would want to respond to these things if I ever had to endure them.

      Poetry is a great way to navigate through what you’ve already experienced (as I’m sure you know), but I feel as if it can also be used in order to organize one’s thoughts pertaining to the what ifs in life.

      • In that case, let me congratulate you for giving it justice.

        I agree with you, with some reservations. I have issues with some poets who write fictional poetry, but it is largely their intentions I question and not the practice. I daresay if your reasons are from a part of you that needs to write something in order to be true to yourself, then it doesn’t much matter if it’s about you or someone else.

Leave a Reply

